Vegan Options at In-N-Out Burger

In-N-Out Burger is an American treasure. Known for its classic burger and fries in a 50’s style diner, this fast food chain is a firm favorite among Americans and foreigners alike! 

In-N-Out Burger are a chain of restaurants found in the Pacific Coast and in the Southwest of the US, known for their iconic red and white restaurant, and their ‘secret menu’ that so many have come to love.

Trust us on this one, if you are ever in the area, you have to try In-N-Out Burger!

With over 349 locations across the United States, they are not so hard to come by, but you may be wondering what options are available for a vegan lifestyle.

3 Vegan Options at In-N-Out Burger

Although In-N-Out Burger do not have the ingredients readily available on their menus, they do have a guide of allergens ready to view on their website. With the allergen information in mind, there are only actually 3 vegan options at In-N-Out Burger. 

French Fries

The first of these three vegan options at In-N-Out Burger is the french fries. These are made with fresh, hand cut potatoes and cooked in 100% sunflower oil, which means that there are no non-vegan ingredients or processes.

As long as there is no cross contamination when cooking the french fries, these are actually 100% vegan! 

What is even better news is that you can order these delicious, flavorsome french fries either well done and crispy or as a standard, for a more personalized touch. 


Another vegan option that is available to you are the ketchup and mustard sauces. These are also 100% safe for a vegan diet, and contain no animal products or processes.

However, you will want to steer clear of the In-N-Out Burger special spread as this contains mayonnaise, which is made from eggs and not vegan friendly. Stick to the ketchup and mustard and you will be fine!  

Veggie Burger (Without the In-N-Out Burger Spread)

Good news, vegans! The Veggie Burger at In-N-Out Burger is suitable for vegans after all. Despite being called a burger, there is no meat at all. This meal is served in a toasted bun with tomato, fresh onion, and lettuce.

Make sure you ask for no In-N-Out Burger spread, and instead fill it with ketchup and mustard. Don’t forget to order the french fries for a completely vegan friendly meal! 

What is great about the veggie burger is that you can ask for your bun to be double toasted, or non toasted, or you could change up the onions and have them sliced, grilled, or chopped for your preference.

You could even add some yellow chillies for a little spice and something nice, or top with your favorite condiments. 

If you are a veggie instead of a vegan, you can also add a little grilled cheese to the veggie ‘burger’, if you wanted to.

In addition to your 3 vegan options at In-N-Out Burger, there is no evidence to show that their soft drinks are not vegan friendly. You can safely order a Coke, or lemonade to go with your meal without having to worry if it is vegan or not. Win win! 


If you ever feel like visiting In-N-Out Burger, but you are not sure whether the restaurant has vegan options that will cater to your diet, then you do not have to worry.

There are 3 options that are perfect for you! You can either order the french fries, have a little dipping sauce or order a veggie burger without the sauce for a 100% vegan meal. 

Does In n Out have a vegan burger?

The vegan options at In n Out are a very sad story. The US-based burger chain offers no form of burger patty suitable for Vegans. Even Vegetarians are out of luck in this department. The burger chain only offers two vegan food items on a menu with over 200 options. 

The closest this fast food joint gets to a 'veggie burger' is onions, tomatoes, and lettuce wrapped in a burger bun with no sauce.  

If you're a Vegan looking to eat at this well-known burger place then you have three options, the underwhelming 'veggie burger', the french fries, or soda. The company has been feeling the anger of social media users over this lackluster vegan menu. 

Are In n Out animal fries vegetarian?

Animal fries are one of the dishes In n Out are most famous for. This option is made up of a layer of French Fries, smothered in cheeseburger ingredients - including shredded burger patty, pickles, onions, thousand islands or burger sauce, and lots and lots of cheese. 

 This menu item is not traditionally vegetarian. However, many locations will make a vegetarian version if you ask for it. These veggie animal fries take a similar form to the 'veggie burger'. That meaning there is no veggie alternative to the meat. Instead, vegetarian animal fries are traditional animal fries without meat. 

That being said, you're left with a delicious mixture of fries, cheese, and fresh veggies. And vegetarian animal fries are by far the best veggie option on the menu. 

Does in n out have Impossible Burger?

Despite a series of rumors about a possible vegan launch last year, In n Out still does not offer a vegan burger. The was a rumor on many news sights that In n Out were going to start selling Impossible Burgers as part of their secret menu. However, senior members of the company have confirmed that these rumors were false and that the company has no plans to introduce vegan or even veggie patties. 

The closest you can get to an Impossible Burger at In n Out is a veggie 'burger' (a bun with no sauces and a few vegetable toppings). If you still want buy from In n Out you could order this and bring your own Impossible Burger patty. 

Are In n Out Burgers dairy free? 

It is possible to get a burger from In n Out that is dairy free. However, many locations have a busy kitchen and there is very often cross-contamination. If you have a serious dairy allergy then we would recommend eating elsewhere. Some locations do have a separate area for allergy-free cooking, and even have different wrapping for allergy-free food to prevent any confusion. 

The buns and burger patties are daily free so you will have no problem when ordering the main burger. What you do have to be careful with is what toppings and sauces you ask for. Ask for no cheese, sadly they do not have a dairy free alternative. The majority of their sauces are dairy free. We would recommend asking your server about any limited edition sauces they are using, as well as any secret menu sauces. 

Latest posts by Luis Souza (see all)