Five Guys Burger and Fries is a popular American fast food restaurant chain that now has restaurants around the world. Their main menu focuses on you guessed it, burgers, fries and some hotdogs.
As the fast food restaurant mainly serves burgers, you may be wondering if there are many or any vegan options available.
You may be surprised to find that there are actually only 3 vegan friendly options available for you at Five Guys Burgers and Fries.
The restaurant offers allergen information and ingredient lists on their menu and online on their website, if you are looking to do the research yourself, however we have gathered the most vegan friendly options for you!
If you look at the Five Guys Burgers and Fries menus yourself, you may notice that there is a Veggie Sandwich available. Whilst this sounds like it may be suitable for a vegan diet and lifestyle, the bun actually contains egg and milk, and so it is unsuitable for vegetarians and vegans.
You can order the Veggie Sandwich without the bun, however the grilled mushrooms, onions and tomatoes may be grilled on the same cooktop as the burgers, and so there may be a risk of cross contamination. Simply ask your server how it is cooked to see if the option is right for you.
Therefore, there are actually only three vegan options at Five Guys Burgers and Fries. These are the dishes that are completely 100% vegan, found in this article below.
The Only 3 Vegan Options at Five Guys Burgers and Fries
Regular French Fries
The first of the three vegan options is the Five Guys French Fries. These fries are made with potatoes, 100% peanut oil and a little seasoning, therefore, they are completely 100% vegan.
As there are only potatoes and peanut oil included in the ingredients, you do not have to worry if they are vegan or not.
In addition, there is no risk of cross contamination, as no other food products are fried in the same deep fat fryer as the french fries. The Five Guys Burgers and Fries are also only tossed in salt, and are made with no additional flavorings or ingredients that are not vegan.
So next time you head to Five Guys Burgers and Fries, you can enjoy the fries risk free, and as part of a vegan diet and lifestyle.
Cajun French Fries
Just like the regular Five Guys Burgers and Fries french fries, there is another vegan option on the menu. This option is the Cajun Style French Fries. These are made with paprika, oregano, red pepper, garlic, salt, onion, white pepper and spice for a delicious blend of tasty spices and flavors.
As these fries are made in the same way as the regular fries, and just topped with spices, they are completely vegan, too. Also, they are not cross contaminated with any other meat products, and so can be eaten freely without worrying about whether they are vegan or not!
Sauces
Despite there not being a vegan burger available, you do not have to enjoy the vegan fries by themselves. Five Guys Burgers and Fries have a variety of sauces and condiments available for vegans. These are the BBQ Sauce, Ketchup, Mustard, Relish, Hot Sauce, and A1 Original Steak Sauce.
As an extra bonus, Five Guys Burgers and Fries supply free peanuts, which are also completely vegan! This means that you do not just have to stick to the fries to fill your belly! In addition, many of the beverages at Five Guys Burgers and Fries are vegan friendly, but stick to the sodas such as Coke or lemonade, and stay away from the Milkshakes.
Conclusion
There are actually three vegan options available at Five Guys Burgers and Fries. These are the regular fries, cajun fries, and a few of their sauces and condiments. However, there is a Veggie Sandwich available, but you will have to order it without the bun as this will contain some milk and egg ingredients.
In addition, the Veggie Sandwich can sometimes be served with cheese or other ingredients that are also unfriendly for vegans and vegetarians.
Does five guys have a vegan burger?
Five Guys Burger and Fries have been around for over 30 years. In this time, they have opened 1500 stores worldwide. Despite this, there is still an unfortunate lack of vegan options on the Five Guys menu. There are no vegan burger options available at Five Guys Burgers and Fries.
The restaurant does offer fries as a vegan choice on its menu. These come in regular and cajun spiced flavors. You will be glad to know that you can pair any of the following sauces with your fries: ketchup, mustard, BBQ sauce, A1 Original Steak Sauce, hot sauce, or relish.
What is the veggie sandwich at Five Guys?
Thankfully, there is a veggie sandwich available at Five Guys Burgers and Fries. This is suitable for vegetarians and can come with or without the cheese. The veggie sandwich consists of grilled to perfection onions, mushrooms, green peppers, crunchy lettuce, and sweet tomatoes. Add your favorite sauce to this veggie sandwich and you have a delicious meal.
If you want to make this burger vegan, you will have to request no bun. Unfortunately, the bun is made with milk and egg which makes it not vegan friendly. Swap out the bun for lettuce wraps and you can enjoy this sandwich with some crispy fries.
What can a vegetarian eat at Five Guys?
If you’re a vegetarian, there are a few options to choose from at Five Guys Burgers and Fries. First up, we have the most substantial vegetarian choice on the menu, the veggie sandwich. This sandwich can be ordered with or without cheese, depending on your preference.
Both the regular and cajun spiced fries are vegetarian friendly too. You can enjoy these with a variety of vegetarian sauces available at the restaurant. The perfect pairing has to be regular fries and ketchup though, it is unbeatable!
As well as those, you can also snack on the free peanuts to your heart’s content. Five Guys gives out free peanuts to all customers, so take advantage if you’re feeling peckish. There are also a wide variety of sodas suitable for vegetarians including Coke brand products. Ideal to wash down your tasty meal.
Is there dairy in Five Guys Burgers?
If you need a dairy-free option at Five Guys Burgers and Fries, then you will need to take note of the below. We’re going to start with the most important thing to take from this, the buns contain milk and eggs. This makes them not suitable for a dairy-free diet. Feel free to swap the regular buns to a lettuce wrap!
Thankfully, the hamburger patties, hot dogs, bacon, fries (including the cajun option), veggie toppings, and condiments do not include dairy. As always, if you have any concerns about your order including dairy, always ask your server before ordering.
- Are Cocoa Butter and Cocoa Powder Vegan? - March 17, 2021
- Are Nike Shoes Vegan? - March 11, 2021
- Is Pectin Vegan? - March 11, 2021