Jimmy John’s Vegan Options

Leading a vegan diet and lifestyle can be hard sometimes. It’s difficult eating out at restaurants when there are very few or no options at all that cater to your needs, which can be very frustrating.

This is why we have created a guide of the best vegan options at some of the most popular restaurants across the country. 

What is Jimmy John’s

Jimmy John’s is an American sandwich fast food restaurant chain owned by Inspire Brands. Jimmy John’s has over 2,800 locations in over 43 states across the country, and is a popular sandwich restaurant and delivery service across America. 

Although you can customize your own sandwich, you may be wondering which foods are suitable for a vegan diet and lifestyle, and what you can order if you are a vegan. Luckily, we have created a guide of the vegan options available at Jimmy John’s in accordance to their allergen guide and ingredients list. 

Vegan Options at Jimmy John’s

There are limited vegan and vegetarian options at Jimmy John’s however, you can make your own sandwiches or dishes that suit your needs. We have compiled a list of all of the vegan options on the Jimmy John’s menu so that you know which items to order!


Unfortunately, not all of the breads at Jimmy John’s are completely 100% vegan friendly. However, there are four that you can choose from that are vegan. These are:

  • 9 Grain Wheat Sub
  • French Bread
  • 9 Grain Wheat Sliced
  • Unwich (Lettuce wrap option)

That being said, Jimmy John’s does not state that any of their breads are vegan friendly, as they are made in a facility that also processes eggs, and so there is a risk of cross contamination. However, on the allergen guide, Jimmy John’s does not state that there are any eggs or traces of eggs in their breads, and so we consider these four options to be vegan friendly. 


Of all the sandwiches available at Jimmy John’s, there is only one vegetarian option that can be made vegan. The Original Veggie sandwich comes with avocado, lettuce, tomato, cucumber, mayo and Provolone cheese. 

If you want to make this vegan, then all you have to do is remove the mayo and the Provolone cheese, but you can add some extra toppings for a little more added flavor. For example, you could add any of the vegan condiments that Jimmy John’s offers, or add some pickles, pepper and onions. 

Despite there only being one Veggie option, you can create your own personalized sandwich from Jimmy John’s with all of your own fillings, condiments and breads. 


Jimmy John’s unfortunately does not have any vegan protein options or vegan cheese options, but they do have a few vegan friendly toppings that you can choose from. These include:

  • Avocado
  • Lettuce
  • Onion
  • Pickles
  • Cucumber
  • Tomato
  • Jimmy Peppers
  • Sprouts

Whilst these fillings do not seem too exciting, you can add a range of condiments for a little extra flavor such as the Yellow Mustard, to make your sandwich a little tastier and more customized! However, you can also add some sides to your sandwich for a more filling meal.


It’s not all bad news, as there are also chips at Jimmy John’s that are 100% vegan friendly. The vegan side options at Jimmy Johns are BBQ Jimmy Chips, Jumbo Kosher Dill Pickle, Thinny Chips, Regular Jimmy Chips, and the Jalapeno Chips. Be careful with the Salt and Vinegar Chips, as these can contain dairy, and are not vegan friendly.


Luckily, there are a few vegan friendly condiments that you can add to your Jimmy John’s sandwiches. These are the Grey Poupon sauce, Yellow Mustard, Jimmy Mustard, Oil & Vinegar, and the Oregano Basil Seasoning. 

Jimmy John’s Vegan Inquiries

Here are some of the most commonly asked questions about the vegan options at Jimmy John’s sandwich restaurants. 

Are Jimmy John’s Cookies Vegan?

Unfortunately, all of the cookies at Jimmy Johns contain dairy and egg products, which makes them not vegan. 

Are Jimmy John’s Chips Vegan?

There are five flavors of chips available at Jimmy John’s, and four of these are vegan. The only exception is the Salt and Vinegar flavor as these contain dairy.

Is Jimmy John’s Bread Vegan?

If you consult the allergen guide provided by Jimmy John’s, then there are no bread varieties that are not vegan, as they do not contain dairy or eggs. However, as they are processed in a facility that makes eggs, there may be traces in the bread.

Is Jimmy John’s Avocado Spread Vegan?

After examining the allergen guide, it is clear that Jimmy John’s avocado spread contains no eggs or dairy, making it completely vegan. 


To conclude, there are very few options at Jimmy John’s that are completely 100% vegan. However, if you want to grab a quick bite to eat, and you need a sandwich to go, then you can customize your own sandwich with all vegan options, and a vegan condiment with some chips to go with it!

Latest posts by Luis Souza (see all)