Cream of tartar is one of those kitchen staples that every person has in their pantry. But one question surrounding it remains a mystery - is cream of tartar vegan or gluten free?
The short answer is yes! Cream of tartar is both vegan and gluten free. Since it’s a byproduct of the winemaking process, it contains no animal-derived ingredients. And, since no grains are used in the winemaking process, it’s also totally gluten free.
However, it is important to note that not all food brands that make cream of tartar produce it in a gluten-free environment. This means that you’ll need to pay extra attention to the ingredients list and, unless you’re super attentive, you could miss some vital information.
So, to make things easier, we’ve listed all of the food companies that produce cream of tartar that is both vegan and gluten free:
- Unpretentious Baker (Non-GMO and Kosher)
- Pure (Organic, Non-GMO, and Kosher)
- Judee’s Gluten Free
- Earthborn Elements (Non-GMO and Kosher)
- Badia (Kosher)
- Natural Craft
- 365 Everyday Value (Non-GMO and Kosher)
What is Cream of Tartar?
Also known as Potassium Bitartrate or Potassium Hydrogen Tartrate, cream of tartar is an acidic powder that is a byproduct of the winemaking process. As the grape juice used to make wine ferments, the inside of the casks become covered in crystals. And these crystals are cream of tartar!
It has multiple uses in the kitchen and around the home. It can be used as a stabilizer for meringues while simultaneously ensuring they remain light and fluffy. It’s also a great addition to sauces where it will act as a thickening agent. It can even be used to help prevent sugar from crystallizing, and it’s one of the key components of baking powder.
Outside of the kitchen, cream of tartar can be used as an effective cleaning agent and it’s especially useful for bringing the shine back to metals or removing rust.
To put things in the simplest terms possible, cream of tartar is 100% vegan but may not always be gluten free. So, if you're a coeliac or suffer from a gluten intolerance, make sure that you read the ingredients thoroughly before purchasing cream of tartar.
And, if you’re even in any doubt, you can take a lot of the guesswork out of it by purchasing cream of tartar from any of the brands we’ve listed above .
- Are Cocoa Butter and Cocoa Powder Vegan? - March 17, 2021
- Are Nike Shoes Vegan? - March 11, 2021
- Is Pectin Vegan? - March 11, 2021