Are Tostitos Vegan?

Tostitos are some of the United States’ favorite brands of tortilla chips. Tostitos are a sister tortilla brand of Doritos, which are both owned by the company Frito-Lay! Tostitos come in a wide variety of flavors and taste sensations, with lots of options to choose from.

However you may need to be cautious of even the flavors that would seemingly be suitable for vegans, as they may actually not be.

This is largely down to the fact that many of Frito-Lay products such as Tostios and Doritos can become cross contaminated with meat products and pork enzymes during their production. 

That being said, we have gathered the vegan Tostitos options for you with this in mind, and every one of our choices are made without the pork enzymes or the risk of cross contamination during their production. 

Vegan Triangle Tostitos

You may be able to enjoy the Triangle Tostitos as these are made with just corn, oil and salt, making them perfect for a vegan diet. However, some versions of the triangle Tostitos can be made with non-vegan ingredients.

The vegan Triangle Tostitos are the Lightly Salted, Original Restaurant Style, Simply Organic Blue Corn, Black Bean And Garlic, Cantina Traditional, and the Cantina Thin and Crispy.

You can safely eat any of these Triangle Tostito flavors worry free, knowing that all the ingredients are vegan. In addition, why not try the Lightly Salted for yourself, and top with some salsa for a hot and spicy tang!

The Tostitos that you will want to avoid are the Hint of Lime, Roasted Red Pepper and the hint of Jalapeno flavors as these can all contain whey and sour cream, which is not suitable for vegans.  

Vegan Scoops Tostitos  

In addition to the triangle, original shaped Tostitos, you can also eat the Scoops Tostitos if you are a vegan.

These are made out of vegetable oil, salt and corn, and so are completely vegan friendly and plant-based. This means that all Tostitos Scoops chips are suitable for vegans. 

Vegan Rounds Tostitos

There are also a few vegan Rounds Tostitos available for you. Just make sure that you stay away from the Sabritas Salsa Round Tostitos, and stick to the Bite Size and Crispy Rounds versions!

Vegan Tostitos Dips

Tostitos also offer a range of dipping sauces to go with your tortilla chips. The best news is that there are actually many Tostitos dips that are actually vegan!

This means that you can enjoy the Tostitos Chunky Salsa (both Mild and Medium versions), the Chunky Habanero Salsa, Simply Organic Chunky Salsa, Restaurant Style Salsa, Splash of Lime Chunky Salsa and the Roasted Garlic Chunky Salsa as part of a vegan diet. So stock up on your favorite salsa dip!

Just remember to avoid the Salsa Con Queso because there is cheese in it, any Cheesy Dips, the Creamy Spinach Dip (I know, even this is not vegan), Southwest Cheese and Corn Dip, Queso Blanco Dip, and Fiesta Bean and Cheese Dip, as all are not completely vegan. 


It can be surprising to find that even Tostitos chips and dips that would seem vegan can contain animal products in them, therefore always check the ingredients and allergen lists before purchasing! 

What tortilla chips are vegan?

Yes! Tortilla chips, like Tostitos, are (mostly) vegan. When you first begin a vegan diet, it’s a great relief to find out just how many comfort foods are vegan. These include pretty much everything made from potatoes. (Because who would want to cut out potatoes?!)

The difficulty comes with flavorings. Most Tostito flavorings are vegan. But some tortilla flavorings, such as cheese, are often not vegan. These can sometimes be obvious, such as cheese flavored tortilla chips. But some might be less obvious, such as chili. So, it’s a good idea to always check the ingredients just in case. 

Can Vegans eat tortilla chips?

Again, this mostly comes down to the flavorings. Overall, the answer is yes! But, you need to be careful when it comes to the way tortilla chips are flavored.

Tortilla chips are mostly made from potatoes, oil (usually sunflower, canola, and/or corn oil), and salt.

Pretty much all plain tortilla chips are vegan. But, some other flavors can sometimes be non-vegan. If you have become used to checking the ingredients of food, you will have seen “Milk Powder 0.1%” about a hundred times by now. So you should always double-check the ingredients if there isn’t a bold statement saying that it’s vegan.

Are tortilla chips and salsa vegan?

Generally speaking, yes! Let’s be honest, is there really any point in a tortilla chip if it isn’t loaded up with dip? When you’re at a pot-luck or buffet, it can be difficult telling which dips might be vegan and which are not. 

This is especially true when it comes to guacamole. Some people love adding sour cream. Whereas some are purists and will keep it almost entirely avocado.

But, the one dip you can pretty much always be safe with is salsa. Salsa can be made with different ingredients by different people. But, for the most part, it is just tomatoes and seasoning. 

What salsa is vegan?

Pretty much all salsa is vegan. Some people like adding sour cream or cheese to salsa. But most options are vegan. Luckily, all Tostitos salsas are vegan. This is great as they have so many different options. When you’re next grabbing a bag of vegan Tostitos, you can also pick up any of their salsas. Here are all the vegan Tostitos salsas:

  • Chunky Salsa
  • Chunky Salsa
  • Restaurant Style Salsa
  • Splash of Lime Flavored Chunky Salsa 
  • Roasted Garlic Chunky Salsa 
  • Chunky Habanero Salsa 
  • Organic Chunky Medium Salsa

Most other salsas will be vegan too. Salsa is a very simple dish. But, as with pretty much everything, it’s always best to double-check the ingredients. 

Latest posts by Luis Souza (see all)