Snyder’s Pretzels are a popular brand of pretzels that can be considered one of the market leaders in the USA.
There are many different varieties of Snyder’s Pretzels to look at today, so let’s get started! We’ll be looking at whether the different flavors of Snyder’s Pretzels are vegan-friendly or not.
Snyder’s Traditional Pretzels
There are thirteen different varieties of Snyder’s Pretzels - Dipping Sticks, Butter Snaps, Itty Bitty Mini, Homestyle, Olde Tyme, Mini, Snaps, Rods, Sourdough Nibblers, Sourdough Hard Pretzels, Unsalted Minis, Thins, and Sticks.
Out of all of these varieties, there is only one that is not vegan-friendly. Butter Snaps contain a natural flavor made up of enzyme-modified butterfat, which is obviously derived from animal products and therefore not vegan-friendly.
So, we can happily say that there are twelve varieties of Snyder’s Traditional Pretzels that are vegan. These are as follows:
- Dipping Sticks
- Itty Bitty Mini
- Olde Tyme
- Sourdough Nibblers
- Sourdough Hard Pretzels
- Unsalted Minis
Snyder’s Flavored Pretzel Pieces
There are nine varieties of Snyder’s Flavored Pretzel Pieces: Parmesan Garlic, Hot Buffalo Wing, Peanut Butter Filled, Salted Caramel, Cinnamon Sugar, Honey Mustard, and Onion, Cheddar Cheese, Jalapeno, and Buttermilk Ranch.
Looking at the flavor options, it doesn’t surprise us much that five of the nine are not considered vegan as they contain animal-derived ingredients. Parmesan Garlic, Salted Caramel, Honey Mustard and Onion, Cheddar Cheese, and Buttermilk Ranch are all non-vegan.
The four flavors that are left are all vegan-friendly due to the lack of animal products within the ingredients list. These are as follows:
- Hot Buffalo Wing
- Peanut Butter Filled
- Cinnamon Sugar
Snyder’s Pretzel Sandwiches
There are two varieties of Snyder’s Pretzel Sandwiches: Cheddar Cheese and Brick Oven Style Pizza. Both of these contain cheese and therefore are not considered vegan-friendly. Therefore, no type of Snyder’s Pretzel Sandwiches is not vegan, unless they come out with different flavors in the future.
Snyder’s Gluten-Free Pretzels
The Snyder’s Gluten-Free Pretzels may be free of gluten, but that does not necessarily mean that they are free of animal-derived products. There are six varieties of Snyder’s Gluten-Free Pretzels: Rods, Cinnamon Brown Sugar Pieces, Mini Pretzels, Sticks, Honey Mustard and Onion Sticks, and Hot Buffalo Wing Pieces.
Only one of these varieties is not considered vegan-friendly, which is the Honey Mustard and Onion Sticks. They contain honey powder and therefore are not vegan. People who follow a vegan diet believe that bees have been put into distress due to collecting their honey.
So, there are five varieties of Snyder’s Gluten-Free Pretzels that are vegan-friendly, which are as follows:
- Cinnamon Brown Sugar Pieces
- Mini Pretzels
- Hot Buffalo Wing Pieces
Snyder’s Braided Twists
Snyder’s offers their Braided Twists in three different varieties: Honey Wheat, Multigrain, and Garden Vegetable. Again, only the Honey Wheat variety contains animal-derived ingredients, which is honey.
The other two varieties are vegan, which are as follows:
- Garden Vegetable
Snyder’s Chocolate Covered Pretzels and Wholey Cheese! Crackers
As you might have already guessed, neither of these varieties is vegan-friendly. Chocolate and Cheese both contain animal products and therefore are not suitable for a vegan diet.
To sum up, there are plenty of varieties of Snyder’s Pretzels that are considered vegan-friendly while there are also lots that are not vegan-friendly. There are 12 varieties of Traditional Pretzels, four Flavored Pretzel Pieces, five Gluten-Free Pretzels, and two Braided Twists that are vegan friendly.
Even if your favorite is not considered vegan, there are still plenty of varieties that are considered vegan and therefore safe to eat with your diet.
- Are Cocoa Butter and Cocoa Powder Vegan? - March 17, 2021
- Are Nike Shoes Vegan? - March 11, 2021
- Is Pectin Vegan? - March 11, 2021