If you are a vegan, then you will want to ensure that you have a wide variety of different snacks to enjoy. Just because you lead a vegan lifestyle and diet, it doesn’t mean that you can’t still enjoy your favorite chips and dips whilst relaxing upon an evening!
The good news is that there are many different chip options available on the market that are 100% vegan friendly, such as Pringles.
Pringles are some of the most popular snacks around the world, and offer a wide range of different flavors and types to choose from.
This is why we have created an easy guide of all the best Pringles flavors to choose if you are a vegan, and all of the flavors that you should avoid!
What Are Pringles?
Pringles are simply a potato based snack that were made by huge consumer goods company Proctor & Gamble. Their unique shape, size and canister have given Pringles their worldwide fame.
The Pringles chips have since been sold to Kellogg’s, and have become the fourth most popular snack product in the world!
Although Pringles are classed as a potato-based snack, they are actually only made of around 42% potato in most of the various flavors.
As with many different snacks, you will want to check the ingredient list to ensure that these chips are made with vegan ingredients and processes. You will also want to check how these snacks are made to ensure that they are suitable for your lifestyle.
What Are Pringles Made From?
With such a wide variety of different Pringles flavors, it is hard to say what each is made from. However, if we look at the Pringles Original Crisps Chips, then we can see what makes up the basic recipe of the snack.
Pringles Original Potato Chips
DRIED POTATOES, VEGETABLE OIL (CORN, COTTONSEED, HIGH OLEIC SOYBEAN, AND/OR SUNFLOWER OIL), DEGERMINATED YELLOW CORN FLOUR, CORNSTARCH, RICE FLOUR, MALTODEXTRIN, MONO- AND DIGLYCERIDES, SALT, WHEAT STARCH.
If we go through these ingredients, we can see which are vegan friendly.
Dried potatoes are just made with most of the water removed, and are of course completely vegan. In addition, vegetable oil is derived from plant based ingredients, and is vegan. Corn flour and cornstarch is made from corn, which is maize, and is a plant, so this is also suitable for a vegan.
These Pringles are also made with rice flour, which is a plant and is 100% vegan. Along with this, maltodextrin is made from a polysaccharide, which is produced from starch and sourced from plants, making this ingredient also vegan.
There is also wheat starch, made from wheat which is also plant based, and salt- which is made with no animal products and 100% vegan friendly.
This means that when it comes to the Pringles Original flavor, they are 100% vegan, and suitable for such a diet.
Are Pringles Vegan?
There are so many different varieties of Pringles available. This makes it nearly impossible to decide whether Pringles as a whole are 100% vegan friendly. However, with so many different flavors to choose from, there are actually many vegan Pringles options, and some that are not entirely vegan or vegetarian friendly.
That being said, the Original Pringles flavor chips which are widely accepted as the most popular, are 100% vegan, and suitable for a vegan or vegetarian lifestyle.
Which Pringles Flavours Are Vegan?
Luckily, we have researched into which Pringles flavors are suitable for vegans, so that you do not have to! The vegan options of Pringles are:
Pringles Original (Lightly Salted)
As previously mentioned, the Original Pringles are made with 100% vegan ingredients: Dried Potatoes, Vegetable Oil (Corn, Cottonseed, High Oleic Soybean, and/or Sunflower oil), Degerminated Yellow Corn Flour, Cornstarch, Rice Flour, Maltodextrin, Mono- And Diglycerides, Salt, Wheat Starch.
The Paprika flavor of Pringles are also suitable for vegans as the ingredients include:
Dehydrated Potatoes, Vegetable Oils (Sunflower, Corn), Rice Flour, Wheat Starch, Paprika Seasoning [Sugar, Paprika Powder, Flavour Enhancers (Monosodium Glutamate, Disodium Inosinate, Disodium Guanylate), Yeast Powder, Dextrose, Onion Powder, Granulated Broth, Garlic Powder, Colour (Paprika Extract), Acid (Citric Acid)], Emulsifier (E471), Maltodextrin, Salt.
Pringles Ketchup Chips
Pringle Ketchup flavor chips are made with:
Dried Potatoes, Vegetable Oil, Corn Starch, Rice Flour, Seasoning (Tomato Powder, Sugar, Natural Flavor), Salt, Yeast Extract, Maltodextrin, Garlic Powder, Vegetable Oil, Mono- and Diglycerides, Salt, Citric Acid, Wheat Starch. All of which are vegan friendly.
Pringles Bacon Flavored Potato Chips
Surprisingly, the bacon flavored Pringles are made with all vegan ingredients:
Dried Potatoes, Vegetable Oil, Corn Flour, Wheat Starch, Maltodextrin, Mono- and Diglycerides, Rice Flour, Salt, MSG, Onion Powder, Garlic Powder, Yeast Extract, Torula Yeast, Sugar, Spices, Caramel Color, Dextrose, Citric acid, Disodium Inosinate, Disodium Guanylate, Coffee, Paprika Extract, Natural Flavors (smoke flavor)
Pringles Kickin’ Chicken Taco
Although these Pringles are called Chicken Taco, there are no animal derivatives in these Pringles. The ingredients of the Kickin’ Chicken Taco Pringles are:
Dried Potatoes, Vegetable Oil (Corn Oil, Cottonseed Oil, Soybean Oil, and/or Sunflower oil), Degerminated Yellow Corn Flour, Cornstarch, Rice Flour, Maltodextrin, Mono And Diglycerides, Spices, Tomato Powder, Sugar, Salt, Monosodium Glutamate, Sodiu, Diacetate, Onion Powder, Yeast Extract, Paprika Extract, Citric Acid, Wheat Starch.
All of the above ingredients are completely vegan, which makes the Kickin Chicken Taco suitable for a vegan or vegetarian lifestyle.
Pringles Wavy Classic Salted
The Wavy Classic Salted Pringles include:
Dried Potatoes, Vegetable Oil, Degerminated Yellow Corn Flour, Cornstarch, Rice Flour, Maltodextrin, Mono and Diglycerides, Salt and Wheat Starch. This means that all of these are 100% completely vegan.
Additionally, the following Pringles flavors are also vegan:
Pringles Wasabi & Soy Sauce Potato Crisps
Pringles Tortillas Original
Pringles Salsa de Chile Habanero
Pringles Sriracha Asian Chilli Sauce
Which Pringles Are Not Vegan?
Whilst there are a few different vegan Pringles flavors to choose from, there are also some that you will want to avoid. For example, the Pringles Rice Fusion chips are not vegan. Out of the four flavors of Pringles Rice Fusion, none of them are 100% suitable for vegan.
This is mostly due to the fact that all of them have ingredients that are derived from animals or milk products. For instance, the options are Peking Duck with Hoisin Sauce, Indian Tandoori Chicken Masala, Japanese BBQ Teriyaki and Malaysian Red Curry.
Additionally, the Pringles Tortilla Chips versions are also all non vegan, except for the Pringles Original Tortilla flavour. The others, such as Pringles Spicy Chilli Tortilla Chips, Pringles Sour Cream Tortilla Chips and Pringles Nacho Cheese Tortilla Chips all have dairy ingredients or non vegan ingredients.
These Pringles flavors should be avoided additionally:
- Pringles Scorchin BBQ Potato Crisps
- Pringles Salt and Vinegar Flavored Potato Crisps
- Pringles BBQ Flavored Chips
- Pringles Honey Mustard Potato Crisps
- Pringles Buffalo Ranch Potato Crisps
- Pringles Cheddar Cheese Potato Chips
- Pringles Pizza Flavored Potato Chips
- Pringles Wendy’s Baconator Flavored Chips
- Pringles Rotisserie Chicken Flavored Chips
- Pringles Sour Cream and Onion Flavored Chips
- Pringles Southern Fried Chicken Flavored Chips
These flavors of Pringles are classified as not suitable for vegans and vegetarians, as they either contain animal derivatives, artificial flavors tested on animals, or ingredients derived from dairy products such as whey.
Finally, the Pringles Xtra range of chips are all non vegan as well. This includes the Pringles Xtra Cheesy Nacho Cheese, Pringles Xtra Kickin Sour Cream and Onion, Pringles Xtra Spicy Chilli Sauce and the Pringles Xtra Saucy BBQ chips.
Pringles are a popular choice of snack for many people, and luckily, there are a few vegan options available on the market for vegans and vegetarians.
If you are leading a vegan lifestyle and diet, then you will want to stick to the flavors: Pringles Original (Lightly Salted), Pringles Paprika Flavored Crisps, Pringles Kickin’ Chicken Taco, Pringles Bacon, Pringles Sriracha Asian Chili, Pringles Wavy Classic Salted and Pringles Wasabi & Soy Sauce flavors.
That being said, Pringles offer a huge variety of flavors, and are constantly bringing out new flavors to enjoy!
- Are Cocoa Butter and Cocoa Powder Vegan? - March 17, 2021
- Are Nike Shoes Vegan? - March 11, 2021
- Is Pectin Vegan? - March 11, 2021