Are Jack In The Box Tacos Vegan?

Jack In The Box is a popular fast food restaurant that specializes in their tacos. It has been long debated whether Jack In The Box tacos is vegan or not, with the validity of the meat being questioned since 2009.

If the meat that Jack In The Box used was not actually real meat, then the tacos might be able to be classified as vegan. Many sites speculated that the meat was actually a meat substitute called soy meat, or a vegetable protein.

Unfortunately, Jack In The Box tacos is not vegan or vegetarian. We hate to be the bearer of bad news, but if you’re a vegan and were craving the Jack In The Box taco, you cannot get one with meat.

Are Jack In The Box Tacos Vegan

 Looking at the Jack In The Box Allergen Reference Guide, updated in July 2019, the regular tacos contain soy, milk, and wheat. These are three ingredients that are not considered vegan and therefore the tacos are not vegan friendly.

However, these ingredients still make the tacos vegetarian. But what about the meat added to the tacos?

Someone managed to get a picture of the box that the meat is exported in and delivered to a Jack In The Box store. The box clearly states that the Taco and Textured Vegetable Protein is ‘made with beef and chicken’.

The box also gave us a list of the entire Jack In The Box taco meat ingredients.

Filling Ingredients

Beef, Water, Ground Dark Chicken, Textured Vegetable Protein (Soy Flour, Caramel Color), Defatted Soy Grits, Seasoning (Chili Pepper, Corn Maltodextrin, Spices, Bleached Enriched Wheat Flour [Contains Niacin, Reduced Iron, Thiamine Mononitrate, Riboflavin, and Folic Acid], Salt, Garlic Powder, Hydrolyzed Corn [Corn, Soy, Wheat], Proteins*, Monosodium Glutamate, Onion Powder, Natural Flavors, Disodium Inosinate, Disodium Guanylate, Succinic Acid), Salt, Tomato Paste, Worcestershire Sauce (Distilled Vinegar, Molasses, Corn Syrup, Water, Salt, Caramel Color, Garlic Powder, Sugar, Spices, Tamarind, Natural Flavor, Sulfiting Agent).

Tortilla Ingredients

Ground Corn, Water, Lime.

Contains Soy, Wheat

So, the Jack In The Box tacos is not vegan or vegetarian in any way shape, or form. Beef and chicken are very prominent in the ingredients list and it shows that they are two of the most used ingredients.

The good news is that Jack In The Box is not trying to market a product as something that it’s not. Selling something as meat when it isn’t is not cool, and it makes us seriously question what is in every other fast food favorite out there.

However, it is bad news for vegans and vegetarians. The Jack In The Box tacos are absolutely not vegan and you cannot get away with eating one as it is full of fake meat.

Although this might not have been the news that you were looking for to quell your cravings, there are still plenty of vegan options at Jack In The Box. The vegetable sandwich is a popular choice as well as the teriyaki rice bowl which you can substitute the meat for vegetables or a side dish.

The English muffin without the butter is also vegan, as well as the apple sauce squeezie.

There are plenty of side orders that are vegan for you to choose from, such as the seasoned curly fries, french fries, hash browns, corn sticks, potato wedges, and the side salad.

You can also request a taco without meat or cheese to create a vegan alternative, although it might be a little lackluster when you eat it. Is it worth eating a tortilla with shredded lettuce and taco sauce, or are you better off making your own faux tacos? 

What is Jack in the Box tacos made of?

One of the main ingredients in these tacos is soy - but this doesn’t mean they are completely vegan. Fillings can range from beef to chicken and dairy products like cheese. Their website doesn’t actually state a full list of ingredients, which may lead some people to assume that the soy ingredient makes their tacos vegan. The meat fillings are actually a protein paste made from soy, but does contain meat flavorings. 

Other common ingredients include fish, eggs, milk, and wheat - some of which definitely aren’t vegan. 

Before you search the ingredients and nutritional list online, remember that Jack in the Box tacos are sold as a pair but listed on their website as a single taco. Both tacos together have 344 calories, 18 grams of fat, 2 grams of sugar, and 12 grams of protein. 

What is vegan at Jack in the Box?

So, we’ve established that the tacos are not vegan. Unfortunately, Jack in the Box doesn’t have many vegan options, either. However, if you aren’t a strict vegan, there are some loopholes. Your new best friends will be side snacks! 

Vegan side snacks include french fries, curly fries, and hash browns to name a few. Most hot and dipping sauces are vegan too, as long as they don’t contain buttermilk or honey if you’re strict. Some of the salads are also vegan, though this doesn’t mean they are necessarily healthy. Make sure to avoid ranch and other dressings, and make your server aware of your requirements. 

Are Jack in the Box tacos made of tuna?

Okay, so the texture of the tacos can often feel like tuna. The meat-filled tacos are made from a meat paste, which provides the same texture as tuna or cat food (not to put you off your tacos). This is what makes the tacos so loved or so hated. As the meat fillings aren’t made of 100% meat, this paste can often be mistaken for tuna.

The paste is made of soy flour and grits as well as some vegetable proteins and pieces of the chosen meat. However, it’s not easy to prove this, as Jack in the Box’s official ingredients list only lists the allergen ingredients. 

Latest posts by Luis Souza (see all)